Home » Corporate, Gel permeation chromatography, Malvern Events, Molecular weight

Polymer characterization – Webinar

13 June 2012 No Comment

Written by:

Join us for a webinar on polymer characterization

Chemical & Engineering News is a magazine published by the American Chemical Society, for ACS members, and aimed at serving the chemical, life sciences and laboratory worlds. Founded in 1876, ACS is the world’s largest scientific society with an astonishing ~ 160,000 members worldwide (see wikipedia for additional details on origin, activites, current journals and magazines).  Hosted by C&EN, Dr. Wei-Sen Wong, Malvern’s Manager of Analytical Services in Houston, TX, will present a live webinar on novel multi-detector techniques for the characterization of polymers that traditionally have been challenging.

Gel Permeation Chromatography (GPC) is one of the most common analytical techniques for the measurement of molecular weight distributions, structure and viscosity of a wide variety of polymers. When coupled to light scattering, the absolute molecular weight can be found without the requirement for a series of weight standards of similar polymers. For some “invisible polymers” this can be quite challenging due to their low dn/dc refractive index increment. I look forward to finding out what advice Wei-Sen has to offer for these samples.

Registration is still open…until the event starts live on Thursday 14 June 2012.

Time: 8:00am PDT / 11:00am EDT / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET

Hope to see you there!